New Jersey lawmakers could soon pass legislation that would require parents to become more involved in their teens’ driver education, according to a report by New Jersey 101.5

The Assembly Transportation Committee reportedly released a measure that would require everyone under 21, and those with a special learner’s permit, to complete at least 50 hours of practice driving, including at least 10 hours of night time driving. This would have to be done under the supervision of a parent or guardian.

Another bill would establish a teen driver orientation program that would have to be completed by those with a learner’s permit between the ages of 18 and 21, and their parent or guardian.

The legislation will be considered by the full Lower House in the coming weeks.

Read the full story: Law could require parents to help make teens better drivers