All vehicles and large trucks in South Korea will be required to have advanced emergency braking (AEB) and lane departure warning systems as standard, according to a report by news agency Yonhap.

The report states that the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport is revising vehicle safety regulations to require the technology to help reduce drowsy driving-related crashes.

The new rule will reportedly apply to passenger vehicles from January 2019, and to trucks and other vehicles from July 2021. All vehicles will also be required to have rear pedestrian detection systems and electric vehicles will be required to have a warning sound for backing up.