Drivers in the U.S. can be fined anything from $20 to $1,000 for texting while driving depending on the state they are in, according to a new report.
Data shows that about nine people are killed every day in collisions involving a distracted driver, with texting continuing to be a major distraction. However, some states have harsher texting laws than others.
TrafficTickets.com looked at every texting-while-driving law in the country to determine which are the harshest and which are the most lenient.
The list reveals the most lenient and strictest states on texting and driving:
Strictest states on texting and driving:
- Oregon – maximum $1,000 fine, no points system
- Utah – maximum $750 fine, 50 points on license
- Illinois – maximum $75 fine, 10 points on license
- Wisconsin – maximum $400 fine, 4 points on license
- Alaska – $500 fine, 2 points on license
Most lenient states on texting and driving:
- Montana – not illegal, 0 points on license
- California – maximum $20 fine, 0 points on license
- New Mexico – maximum $25 fine, 0 points on license
- South Carolina – maximum $25 fine, 0 points on license
- Iowa – maximum $30 fine, 0 points on license