Drivers in Florida are being reminded to move over for emergency or service vehicles stopped along the roadway as part of an annual campaign.
January is Move Over month in Florida, and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) and its division of the Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) has partnered with the Florida Department of Transportation, Florida Police Chiefs Association, Florida Sheriffs Association, and AAA – The Auto Club Group to drive the Move Over message home.
Preliminarily in 2020, there were 159 crashes and over 12,000 citations issued for motorists failing to move over in Florida.
“Each move over related crash or citation is not simply a statistic, it represents a first responder or service professional – all with family and loved ones – who was carelessly put in danger while trying to serve and protect Floridians along the roadway,” said FLHSMV Executive Director, Terry L. Rhodes.
“Please, give law enforcement, first responders, and service and utility professionals space to safely do their jobs by moving over or slowing down – it’s the law, and it could save a life.”
To comply with the Move Over Law drivers must:
- Vacate the lane closest to the stationary emergency vehicle, sanitation vehicle, utility service vehicle, Road Ranger or wrecker and always signal the intention to change lanes
- Slow down to a speed of 20 mph below the posted speed limit if a driver cannot move over safely
- Be prepared to allow those who are attempting to move over into the next lane
- Slow down to a speed of 20 mph below the posted speed limit
- Travel at 5 mph if the speed limit is 20 mph or less